Swearing-In Of Ministers In Gujarat “Likely” In Next 2 Days: BJP

Swearing-In Of Ministers In Gujarat “Likely” In Next 2 Days: BJP

Swearing-In Of Ministers In Gujarat 'Likely' In Next 2 Days: BJP

Bhupendra Patel grew to become the seventeenth Chief Minister of Gujarat. (File)


A day after Bhupendra Patel took over as Gujarat chief minister, BJP sources indicated that the swearing-in of extra ministers is probably going within the subsequent two days.

Only Mr Patel (59) had taken oath on Monday after the sudden resignation of Vijay Rupani on Saturday.

“Discussions are happening and the swearing-in will happen both Wednesday or Thursday,” Gujarat BJP spokesperson Yamal Vyas advised PTI on Tuesday.

As per the process, the names of ministers shall be declared once they take the oath, he stated.

There is theory in BJP circles on whether or not Nitin Patel, deputy CM within the Rupani-led ministry, is retained within the new cupboard. There can also be speak on the probabilities of Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, RC Faldu and Kaushik Patel, senior ministers within the Rupani cupboard, being retained.

Party sources stated efforts shall be made to accommodate senior leaders within the cupboard so far as doable.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah met Patel and state BJP president CR Paatil Monday night time earlier than leaving for New Delhi, celebration sources stated. Cabinet formation was doubtless mentioned, they added.

Mr Patel was unanimously elected BJP legislature celebration chief on Sunday and was sworn in because the state’s seventeenth chief minister by Governor Acharya Devvrat in Gandhinagar on Monday. Mr Shah was current within the oath-taking ceremony.

Mr Patel’s elevation to the coveted put up is being attributed to his closeness to former Gujarat chief minister and present Uttar Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel.

Mr Rupani, the fourth chief minister to demit workplace in BJP-ruled states through the coronavirus pandemic, accomplished 5 years in workplace on August 7 this 12 months.

With state Assembly polls scheduled in December 2022, the BJP is banking on Mr Patel, a Patidar, for ballot victory. In the 2017 Assembly elections, BJP received 99 of the 182 seats and Congress bought 77.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *